SXSW 2013: Day Two

I was happy that I wouldn’t have to wake up as early today as yesterday because I didn’t have to go and get my pass again. Also, I didn’t have as many artists to photograph as the previous day, so I spent a lot more time taking photos of the atmosphere around the various venues as well as 6th Street. There had been a rumour that Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson were going to be at the VEVO/Miller Lite party to promote their newest movie “The Internship” that is due out in theatres around June, so I walked over to check it out. Although I was bummed to find out that Vince and Owen wouldn’t be showing up, they still had actors Josh Gad, Max Minghella and Josh Brener come out and meet everybody there. I hung out for a bit, enjoyed some free food and Miller Lite’s, took some photos and then left for the next show.

Miller1

Miller3jpg

Miller2

The next artist I had to photograph that day was Toro Y Moi and he was playing a venue called 1100 Warehouse. I decided to take the long way to the venue in order to walk down 6th Street and see what interesting things I could find to take photos of.

fest2

fest4

fest7

fest6

fest8

fest5

I was bummed to find out when I arrived to the venue that there was no photo pit, so I decided to throw on my 80-200mm telephoto lens and stand on a riser I found on the one side of the warehouse and just take a few images for the feature.

ToroYMoi2

ToroYMoi3

I arrived nice and early at Fader Fort and it was probably a good thing considering how packed it was already and how many people were trying to get in. Before Trinidad James took the stage, I happened to meet Bobby Kim, who is one of the co-owners of a clothing company called “The Hundreds” based out of Los Angeles, California. He was an awesome dude and me being in college for marketing, it was great to meet and talk with someone who has become very successful with their own brand. Once Trinidad finally came on, it was time to get back to work and try and grab some good images of him.

TrinidadJames1

TrinidadJames11

TrinidadJames16

TrinidadJames13

TrinidadJames9

TrinidadJames15

TrinidadJames5

Right after Trinidad, I made my way back to the core of the festival and grabbed some pulled pork on a bun and it was probably the best pulled pork I have ever had. Once I finished eating, I made my way over to Club DeVille rather early in order to get in for Yelawolf. I have never photographed him before, I almost had the chance in 2011 at Vans Warped Tour in Toronto, but I think I had to shoot a different band on another stage. I was interested to see what Club DeVille would be like after dark and what the lighting would be like under the tent. Yelawolf was very energetic and was an interesting subject to photograph, he did everything from throw beers into the crowd, to climbing on the speakers and diving off, which in turn was great to photograph.

Yelawolf1

Yelawolf4

Yelawolf2

Yelawolf6

Yelawolf7

Yelawolf5

Once Yelawolf’s set had ended, I walked over to SPIN’s night showcase at a venue called Easy Tiger to photograph Angel Haze. It was located directly behind our hotel, so it was in a very convenient location.

AngelHaze1

AngelHaze2

AngelHaze3

After taking a few images of Angel Haze, I made my way over to the hotel to edit for a bit and then pass out.Even though I hadn’t photographed a ton of artists the second day, it was still a lot of fun and was really nice to just take in what the city and festival had to offer. Make sure to be on the look-out for my write up from days three and four which will be posted soon.

– Joel

Leave a Reply

